Current Members of the EGSS

President and PhD Representative: Bassam Chiblak

Vice-President and MA Representative: Angie Park

English Student Representative in Graduate Student Society: David Eso

Secretary: Janice Niemann

Webmaster and Communications: Tiffany Chan

Treasurer: Hector Lopez

Academic and Professional Committee: Natalie Boldt (Co-chair), Heidi Rennert (Co-chair)

Conference and Colloquia Committee: Conrad Leibel (Chair), Heidi Rennert, Reuben Copley, Armaghan Khosravi Nia

Social Committee: Catriona Duncan (Chair), Janice Niemann, Alyssa Currie

Getting Involved

Elections are held at the start of each academic year for the Chairs of each committee, as well as President, Vice-President, Webmaster, Secretary, and Treasurer. Depending on how many nominations there are, these positions can be jointly held.

Anyone may join a committee as a member at any point and you can be a member of more than one committee at a time. EGSS monthly meetings are open to all English grad students to address any ideas for new initiatives or concerns. You can also write for our blog or email us at uvicegss[at]

Even if you are not part of a committee, we hope you can attend and support your fellow students throughout the year!


One thought on “People

Comments are closed.